Roll Over Image to Zoom
alternate views:
Email a Friend


5 (5)   Write a Review
 Unsigned : $14.99

Need help selecting format?
  • Add to Cart
Umphrey’s McGee has been arranging and performing original mashups live for over eight years. It was only a matter of when, not if, some of those innovative concoctions would find their way into a studio. And that when has arrived.

UM is pleased to announce ZONKEY, an album of 12 unique mashups, conceived, arranged & executed by the band. ZONKEY is as seamless as it bizarre, playful as it is razor sharp. Bits and pieces of classic songs are culled from 40+ years of popular music from 70’s Reggae to 80's Pop to 90’s Metal and everywhere in between. From Radiohead mashed with Beck, The Weeknd with Fleetwood Mac, Talking Heads with Bob Marley, Metallica with Gorillaz….nothing is off limits.

ZONKEY clearly pays homage to some of our favorite artists & songs. While we’ve tried to reproduce the spirit of the original compositions & recordings, we’ve also tried to have some fun with the structure as we’ve often combined seemingly dissimilar musical elements to create a new vibe altogether,” notes keyboardist Joel Cummins. Item #: UYCD34
ZONKEY Track Listing:

1. “National Loser Anthem”
"National Anthem" (Radiohead) + "Loser" (Beck) + "In The Air Tonight "(Phil Collins)
2. “Life During Exodus”
"Life During Wartime" (Talking Heads) + "Exodus" (Bob Marley) + "City of Tiny Lites" (Frank Zappa) + "25 or 6 to 4" (Chicago)
3. “Can't Rock My Dream Face”
"Rock With You" (Michael Jackson) + "Can't Feel My Face" (The Weeknd) + "Dreams" (Fleetwood Mac)
4. “Sad Clint Eastwood”
"Sad But True" (Metallica) + "Clint Eastwood" (Gorillaz)
5. “Electric Avenue To Hell”
"Highway To Hell" (AC/DC) + "Electric Avenue" (Eddy Grant) + The Triple Wide (Umphrey's McGee)
6. “Ace Of Long Nights”
"Ace of Spades" (Motorhead) + "It’s Gonna Be a Long Night" (Ween)
7. “Sweet Sunglasses”
"Sweet Dreams" (Eurythmics) + "Sunglasses at Night" (Corey Hart) + "Electric Feel" (MGMT)
8. “Strangletage”
"Stranglehold" (Ted Nugent) + "Sabotage" (Beastie Boys)
9. “Come As Your Kids”
"Kids" (MGMT) + "Come As You Are" (Nirvana) + "You Spin Me Round (Like a Record)” (Dead or Alive)
10. “Frankie Zombie”
"Thunder Kiss ’65" (White Zombie) + "Relax" (Frankie Goes to Hollywood) + "Have a Cigar" (Pink Floyd)
11. “Bulls On The Bus”
"Bulls On Parade" (Rage Against the Machine) + "Mark On the Bus" Beastie Boys)
12. “Bittersweet Haj”
"Hajimemashite" (Umphrey's McGee) + "Bitter Sweet Symphony" (The Verve)
SELECT Format:

PlaySong TitleTimeArtistPriceBuy
1:1National Loser Anthem6:53Umphrey's McGee $1.29
  • Buy Track
1:2Life During Exodus8:43Umphrey's McGee $1.29
  • Buy Track
1:3Can't Rock My Dream Face4:32Umphrey's McGee $1.29
  • Buy Track
1:4Sad Clint Eastwood4:24Umphrey's McGee $1.29
  • Buy Track
1:5Electric Avenue To Hell5:13Umphrey's McGee $1.29
  • Buy Track
1:6Ace of Long Nights4:52Umphrey's McGee $1.29
  • Buy Track
1:7Sweet Sunglasses5:02Umphrey's McGee $1.29
  • Buy Track
1:8Strangletage5:41Umphrey's McGee $1.29
  • Buy Track
1:9Come As Your Kids6:26Umphrey's McGee $1.29
  • Buy Track
1:10Frankie Zombie5:46Umphrey's McGee $1.29
  • Buy Track
1:11Bulls on the Bus2:59Umphrey's McGee $1.29
  • Buy Track
1:12Bittersweet Haj5:38Umphrey's McGee $1.29
  • Buy Track
You may also be interested in:
  • Red. Rocks. Repeat. DVD or Blu-ray
  • Umphrey's McGee 1x2" Sticker
  • UM X MHW Trucker Hat
  • Hall of Fame: Class of 2015 CD (4-Disk Set)
  • Hall of Fame: Class of 2015 2-LP
  • UM X MHW AlpenGlo Dome
  • UM Ladies Angular V-Neck
Average Customer Rating  (5) | Read All | Write a Review
Mary Bowen (1/15/2017)
Awesome! Ordered this for the boyfriend as one of his Christmas presents. And, of course, it was a hit! So happy with having a signed copy and thrilled to have a hard copy of the album. Thanks for everything you do!
Steven R. (11/24/2016)
Love this album, love this band. My girlfriend and dad both have never listened to UM and they love this album, too. Keep rockin' guys \mm/
Matt Small (11/23/2016)
Super musicianship and vocals combined with studio technical magic make this a must-have album for any hard core Umphreak, casual fan, or newbie who just enjoys excellent music with a sense of adventure. Expect the unexpected and be pleasantly surprised with how well these songs mash up (and how well this band smashes the mashes!).
Dick Butler (11/23/2016)
This entire album is amazing! Definitely one of the most creative albums I've heard in a long time - a must buy. Keep rocking, guys!!
Pete (11/28/2016)
Interesting idea with the mashups. For me some worked well some not as much. All in all enjoyable to listen to.